Firmware 10.0 is an update for the Axe-Fx Guitar Tone and Effects Processors.

Plaistow, NH (June 18, 2010) -- The Fractal Audio Axe-Fx packs amp, cab, and effects tones into a powerful all-in-one solution for the stage or studio guitarist.

Now, with the release of the 10.0 firmware, Fractal Audio continues its tradition of providing major new capabilities via free firmware updates. New features in firmware 10.0 include 5 all-new amplifier models, 2 new drive pedal types, key improvements to the existing amp and effect tone capabilities, and more:
  • New Marsha HB and Marsha HBE amp types -- the result of a collaboration with renowned rig builder/amp modder/amp designer Dave Friedman of LA-based Rack Systems LTD., who himself sanctioned and approved the new Axe-Fx models.
  • The new Shiver Clean and Shiver Lead amp types are based on the channels of a well-known west amplifier model with cleans and overdrive.
  • The new 1987X MOD is a Plexi type reissue with what many consider to be an “essential” tone mod already built in.
  • The existing Euro Über model has been updated to provide a representation of the original.
  • New Face Fuzz and Master Fuzz drive effect types give Axe-Fx owners two of the most sought after fuzz effects of all time.
  • The Drive block slew-rate algorithm is now an exact model of real op-amp slew-rate limiting.
  • The virtual Presence control circuitry now more accurately models the resulting response of the power amp and speaker coil interaction for better bite and a more pronounced attack.
  • Additional support has been added for the forthcoming Fractal Audio MFC-101 Midi Foot Controller.
  • A new version of Axe-Edit, the software editor for the Axe-Fx, has also been released, with full support for firmware 10.0 and additional new features and fixes.

Firmware 10.0 is available for both Standard and Ultra models and can be downloaded free of charge at the Fractal Audio’s web site.

For more information:
Fractal Audio

Source: Press Release

It’s not difficult to replace the wiring in your pickups, but it takes some finesse. Here’s a step-by-step guide.

Hello and welcome back to Mod Garage. After numerous requests, this month we’ll have a closer look at changing wires on a single-coil pickup. As our guinea pig for this, I chose a standard Stratocaster single-coil, but it’s basically the same on all single-coil pickups and easy to transfer. It’s not complicated but it is a delicate task to not destroy your pickup during this process, and there are some things you should keep in mind.

Read More Show less

The emotional wallop of the acoustic guitar sometimes flies under the radar. Even if you mostly play electric, here are some things to consider about unplugging.

I have a love-hate relationship with acoustic guitars. My infatuation with the 6-string really blasted off with the Ventures. That’s the sound I wanted, and the way to get it was powered by electricity. Before I’d even held a guitar, I knew I wanted a Mosrite, which I was sure was made of fiberglass like the surfboards the Beach Boys, Surfaris, and the Challengers rode in their off time. Bristling with space-age switchgear and chrome-plated hardware, those solidbody hotrod guitars were the fighter jets of my musical dreams. I didn’t even know what those old-timey round-hole guitars were called. As the singing cowboys Roy Rogers and Gene Autrey strummed off into the sunset, the pace of technology pushed the look and sound of the electric guitar (and bass) into the limelight and into my heart. Imagine my disappointment when I had to begin my guitar tutelage on a rented Gibson “student” acoustic. At least it sort of looked like the ones the Beatles occasionally played. Even so, I couldn’t wait to trade it in.

Read More Show less

Need an affordable distortion pedal? Look no further.

We live in the golden age of boutique pedals that are loaded with advanced features—many of which were nearly unthinkable a decade or so ago. But there’s something that will always be valuable about a rock-solid dirt box that won’t break your wallet. Here’s a collection of old classics and newly designed stomps that cost less than an average concert ticket.

Read More Show less